The Time I Met With Eighth Graders at Thomas Jefferson Middle School

YA author Sara Daniell writes about her experience speaking with the eighth graders at Thomas Jefferson Middle School.

Recently, I had the opportunity to speak to eighth graders at Thomas Jefferson Middle School in Port Washington, WI.  I was ecstatic when Ms. Dekker invited me to come talk about my passion of writing after one of her students who had read A Life Unexpected (Book One of the Holly Nather Series) asked her to invite me.

I discussed the following topics:

– how I went about doing it professionally

– what inspired me to start writing

– what was/is the most challenging part about writing

–  my writing process

– what helps me the most as a writer

– what strategies/techniques I use

– was writing something I went to school for or did I follow my passion another way

– the process I used to get published

I was so nervous, because I’m not that great at speaking to large groups of people, but to my surprise…

View original post 449 more words

2 thoughts on “The Time I Met With Eighth Graders at Thomas Jefferson Middle School

Leave a Reply

